Twitter is now adding a filter feature for all your future messages. Starting today, people you don’t know have to ask permission before sliding into your precious DMs.

As stated in Twitter’s support page:

“If you have the ‘Receive messages from anyone’ setting enabled, incoming messages from people you don’t follow will appear as Requests in the Messages tab. New group conversations that you’re added to by people you don’t follow will also appear in Requests.”

When you enter a requested conversation, you’ll have an option whether to accept it or not. If you don’t accept, it will be automatically deleted. It’s very similar on Facebook when a user that’s not on your friends list messages you. Any pictures, GIFs, or any form of media content the user sent to you won’t be visible until you press that Accept button.

According to TechCrunch, the feature  has been in testing and “rolling out gradually” for some time now, so maybe some of you might have already have it. With Twitter’s official announcement, expect everyone to have the feature in the coming days.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here